Distributed architecture can operate in the failover mode. If the connection with one of distributed system Servers fails, then this mode enables transfering the configuration created under the Server to a Standby Server. A Standby Server temporarily becomes a Video server and records archive in accordance with the settings of the Computer object that corresponds to a Standby Server (see Selecting the disks for video archive storage section). When the connection is restored, the configuration is restored on the main Server.
If the main Server + standby Server flowchart is in use, it is possible to configure both main and standby Servers for recording on the same network resource or several resources (see Using network disks section). In this case the archive is always available no matter what Server operates with cameras.
If the N main Servers + standby server flowchart is in use, it is impossible to create a unified archive. In this case main Servers perform recording on different logical drives (sections, partitions), local or network. If these drives for archive recording are specified on a standby Server, then archives from different main Servers will mix. The AxxonPlayer.exe utility can be used to access the archive created by a standby Server on NAS (see Viewing video using the AxxonPlayer.exe utility section).
The N main Servers + standby server flowchart:
The N main Servers + standby server flowchart when archive is recorded to one NAS:
If configuration from several main Servers is transferred to one standby Server, then provide enough processor resources, RAM and LAN on a standby Server in case when all main Servers become disabled.
The Failover mode is configured using the Failover objects created under the Computer objects corresponding to backup servers in the Hardware tab of the System settings dialog box.
If the quantity of cameras is bound to specific Servers in the protection key, then the license becomes invalid when cameras are moved to the backup Server. In this case the system gives 2 months to restore the faulty Server in order to move the cameras back and the license to become valid again. Otherwise, Intellect will unload on the backup Server because the hardware limit is exceeded (see Features of the Intellect software operation when the object limit is exceeded section). Time (in days) remaining for restoring the main Server is shown on the settings panel of the Failover object:
When you log off INTELLECT™, configuration is not transferred from main Server to a standby server.
The number of failovers running simultaneously can be limited. For this the Failover manager object is used. It is created under any LOCALHOST object (that is not a Client) in the system – see Role-assignment in distributed system section). Only one Failover manager object can be created in the system.
If the number of dead servers exceeds the specified limit, configuration from new dead servers will be transferred as previously dead servers restore.